Replacing Belt Buckle Stop Button

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Replacing Belt Buckle Stop Button

So this is my first attempt at a DIY. The driver seat belt buckle stop was broken when I bought my E12 in 2016 and I finally got around to fixing it. I'm posting the DIY here because the replacement parts are the same for E30s and many other BMWs, and I'm sure many E30s need this fix.

It was obvious to me that the stop had been gone for a while, because the B pillar cover had been damaged by the door closing on the buckle after it had fallen down on the belt where it should not be. Here is a picture of the damage.

button 1 by cory58f5, on Flickr

Two parts are required for the fix. There are aftermarket versions but the EOM parts are inexpensive and readily available. The part numbers are:

Here are pictures of the parts.

button 2 by cory58f5, on Flickr
    button 3 by cory58f5, on Flickr

I assumed that the replacement stop halves would snap together, but that was wrong. The front piece just has a post and the back piece just has a hole, nothing to hold them together. I started searching for DIYs for this repair and found a few YouTube videos and nothing here, which is why I decided to write this DIY.

1. Start by moving the buckle up the belt far enough to get it out of the way from where you will be mounting the new stop, and run some tape around the belt to hold the buckle in place.

button 4 by cory58f5, on Flickr