Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What tools/parts do I need when installing Koni Yellows/H&R Race?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What tools/parts do I need when installing Koni Yellows/H&R Race?

So, after finally getting a place with a garage, I'm finally getting to refreshing my suspension and brakes but, since this is my only car, I need to get this done in a weekend so I can drive it to work. I've never done anything like this before and I want to make sure I have all the tools I need to get it done, meaning I want to avoid having to make trips to the store/dealer or waiting for parts to come in after I've started. I'll be spraying everything I'll be taking off in PB Blast 2x/day for a week leading up to it to be safe

Here's the parts list:
    - Koni yellows (on sale now at Bimmerworld for $480, FYI) and ATF to put in cylinder with them
    - H&R Race springs
    - Lemforder tie rods, sway bar links, control arms
    - Sachs strut mounts
    - Treehouse FCABs
    - Rear shock mount reinforcements
    - E90 drop hats
    - Brembo blank rotors, Pagid pads, anti-squeal for pads, speed bleeder, IE stainless lines, brake fluid

Tools:
    - Work bench with vise
    - Harbor Freight super professional grade 301-piece tool kit https://www.harborfreight.com/Mechan...-Pc-63464.html
    - Borrowing my friend's Milwuakee cordless impact
    - Channel locks
    - manual spring compressors
    - torch
    - PB blast and tons of brake parts cleaner

Things I've seen conflicting information on:
    - Do I need new bump stops?
    - Do I need to add ATF into the shock cylinder?
    - Do I need shock dust boots?

Many thanks, y'all
    1990 E30 325i sedan - Gletscherblau (280) over Indigo cloth (0271)