Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

750i MC upgrade myths

Hey people

I wanna talk about advantages of increasing the area of the brake master cylinder.

Lot's of people on the forum seem to be under impression that putting in a larger cylinder piston area MC will result in a "higher pressure" in the brake hydraulic system.

I am not an expert but i know the "golden rule of mechanics" and according to it, increasing the area of the MC piston will make it "harder" to brake - i e the amount of force required from your foot to exert the same amount of force on the brake pads, will have to be higher. However it will also result in a lesser distance traveled by the foot to "lock up" the brakes.

So, to everyone: make no mistake in thinking that you get free lunch with a larger MC. By getting less foot travel you suffer having to push harder.

Please correct me if i am wrong.

Alex

Shocking news!! This just in:

This is news to no one.

E30 ABS Pump Refurbishment Service
    https://mtechniqueauto.com/

Comment

That is the point of the modification.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

RISING EDGE

Let's drive fast and have fun.

Comment

wanna wager your car on that, Jordan?

Comment

Originally posted by Digitalwave
          That is the point of the modification.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
          yes it is, but i found some people miss this point - thus the thread.
          i just want to help.

Alex

Comment

i by no means claim i know everything

for instance, i would appreciate if someone can explain to me why the decreased travel distance is beneficial.
            One i can think of is better brake modulation. But really, this mod decreases the amount of maximum force you can apply to the pad, which potentially hurts the braking performance - am i missing anything?

this thread was born to discuss the use of a larger MC and to inform people not in the know.

Alex

Comment