Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Thinking about a E46 XI for winter - what should I know before hand?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thinking about a E46 XI for winter - what should I know before hand?

Hi guys,
    As the title says, I'm looking for a E46 (preferably a 330) for winter. I don't know anything about the E46 series.
    Anything specific i should be on the lookout for when considering a purchase? Any input would be greatly appreciated. TIA
    sigpic

I've lived in eastern Canada and Boston for a bunch of years, so I have lots of experience driving in the icy/slushy/slick conditions up there. In my experience, the BMW "X-Drive" system is among the absolute WORST when it comes to really slippery conditions. It basically just cuts power. Very difficult to control in a slide, and very hard to get moving once you're stopped if it's really slick. Honestly, you'd be better off with a regular RWD BMW. As long as it's got snow tires and a functioning LSD, you'll be in better shape than you would with an X-Drive car.

If you insist on AWD, get a Subaru with mechanical/viscous diffs. My dad's '05 Forester 2.5 XT was very surefooted in the snow and ice. It had reasonable ground clearance without being wallowy. Never got stuck. Much better than my '03 Lancer Evo VIII (although that car had 400hp, was very low, and ran 255/40-R17 rubber).

Honestly, my old '90 325iX was pretty much the perfect winter beater. I still regret selling it. It was a 1-owner car originally purchased by a BMW CCA life-time member and came with full service history from day 1. With 205/55-R15 snow tires, that thing was a billy goat. Best winter car I've ever driven.
    sigpic
    1987 Mercedes 190E 2.3-16: Vintage Racer
    2010 BMW (E90) 335xi sedan: Grocery Getter

Comment

you should know it's not an e30.
      AWD > RWD

Comment

Originally posted by Emre View Post