Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Affording an E30? Your thoughts and knowledge needed.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Affording an E30? Your thoughts and knowledge needed.

Alright, some background is needed to properly assist with my posed query.

I am a 22yo male with (very likely) two jobs this summer and Calculus 1 on Mon&Wed nights. So, this summer, I am a very busy individual. Come fall, I will hopefully be going back to school full-time and keeping the Best Buy job part-time. If I am unable to go back to school full-time in the fall (finances), then I will be working Best Buy full-time until I can do so. So, on the assumption that I hold both jobs over the summer and return to school in the fall, I will be making a whopping $14.5K in 52 weeks (52 weeks in a year)! Now, my earnings need to go towards my schooling and being a Mechanical Engineering student, I do not foresee myself having the time to work on my car for maintenance upkeep while also holding a part-time job. I am trying hard to get a fun, driving-experience oriented vehicle, but my options are limited. At its worst, I would put $9K towards my schooling this year, though it doesn't seem realistic and shouldn't be remotely necessary. I say the most I would want to spend on a vehicle itself would be $3K and maybe $5K needed for schooling. Honestly the schooling figure is quite dynamic at this point and will not be more static until mid/late summer, many weeks after the car will be needed. Here are some car choices I have come by.

-E30 318i/S seems the best fit; reliable, good on gas and can make for an engaging commute, but could I afford to not be my cars mechanic with this income?
    -Miata is somewhere in the running as well. I'm simply not the biggest fan of its impracticality. Nor its looks, honestly. But I hear its fun, gets great mileage on a tank of gas and is as reliable a little car as they come.
    But driving year-around? (Live in the DC area)