Sitting for 15 years Lachssilber - Metallic 1987 325

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sitting for 15 years Lachssilber - Metallic 1987 325

So i work in the insurance industry and i drive to various body shops and mechanical shops and look at cars all day long (I love my job) any way a few weeks ago i was at a body shop and i was in the back looking at a car and i noticed this 1987 325 5 speed sitting there all alone.

I noticed it and didnt pay too much attention to it till i was gone and started thinking about it.

My next time there i asked the owner what is the deal with the BMW sitting in the back. His response was simple " Well the last owner had it got into a wreck with it (Right front fender, and looks like suspension) and he brought it to them and left it there and has been sitting there since.

The car has been Sitting there for 15 years with no love. In further inspection i noticed it needs a bath but theres no mold inside like it has been leaking or any sings of damage that i can see besides the original loss.

i asked him if he is able to get title and if so would he sell it to me.

His response was amazing "Sure give me $10 bucks for it and its yours, i just have to fill out paperwork for the title so i can sell it to you" well as you can expect i told him send out for the title and when he has it ill give him STRAIGHT CASH for it (my sense of humor) anyway this is where i am currently with the car(waiting stage)

i would love some suggestions for anything you guys think of.

Of course knowing it has been sitting for 15 years i know that i am going to have to........

1. All fluids flushed (Gas, Coolant, Oil, Tranns, Diff, Headlight Fluid, Brake)

2. Filters (Oil, Fuel, Air)

3. I am going to just assume that i have to replace all rubber hoses

4. Timing Belt, Tensioner & Water pump (any ideas on a good aftermarket one??)

5. Battery.....

6. Plugs.