Just introducing myself and my beater

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just introducing myself and my beater

Hi everyone, I've been browsing for a couple weeks now and tonight I decided to introduce myself on the forums. I work at the local VW dealer in Charleston, SC and me and a friend of mine traded cars, this is what I got...

Sadly though, he took the Fittipaldi's with him and I got this...

It's a 1984 318i with a perfect looking interior, a rat's nest of a stereo install, tucked bumpers, cut stock springs, and a dead starter. He had already bought a used starter so we put it on and it started right up. I've been driving it for about 3 months now and I enjoy more and more every day. In that time I've done a few things to it.
    First things first I rewired this hell hole...

Then I cleaned up the front bumper trim, put in a different cluster, replaced the shifter bushings, switched out to some more comfortable springs, and got rid of the awful purple tint it had on it. For christmas I drove to visit my parents in Charlotte, NC and on the way the driver's side rear tire let go of the entire tread pattern at 70mph. it ripped off a piece of my side molding and logged itself in the rear bumper trim. :shock: Later on I fixed the bumper trim and it looks just as decent as it did before. Last month I heard about another E30 nearby that somebody wanted to get rid of. Instead of buying the one for $100, I ended up buying 2 for $400. :D The first one was a mess but it was a 1986 325es that had a lot of stuff I wanted. I got it towed to the shop and went to town on it.

In case you missed it, the car came with these...

BBS RS001's! My favorite wheels ever. They're 15x7 which I hope to change to 16x8 and 9 in the future. Anyway, I cleaned them up and mounted them on some spare 15" tires and switched them out.

The tires look awful, like balloons, but it's OK for now I suppose.