Daily driver thread

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Daily driver thread

I know this has been asked thousands of times, but I really trust you guys and would love some input on a good daily driver.

I am a full-time college student that also works 30-40 hours a week, and I drive 500+ miles a week. I currently drive a mkiv(2002) jetta wagon tdi, but it isn't holding up too well and constantly letting me down with various problems. Plus it's just giving me the worst luck. I find myself fixing some stupid problem every week and can't keep up anymore. I think I either got a real 'lemon' or a VW is really plagued with issues after it hits 150k on the body.

This is where I need you guys, what are your recommendations for a decent reliable car that's 2006+ (or even new) for up to about 18kish?

I was thinking an 07+ WRX, but the gas mileage is real bad to what I'm used to.

Yes. I know I should buy an E30.

1991 318is -> 2004 R32 -> 2002 Jetta TDI -> 2014 FiST

No E30 Club

You shouldn't have that many issues with that model TDI. I know the auto's were finicky but those seems to hold up damn good.

My bet would be to go and take it to a shop and let it get a full service and inspection. You won't find anything with better mileage and as reliable. You'll also spend less keeping what you have up than buying something else.

Comment

+1 ^ VW TDI is amazing for those MPG's, see what's up with yours right now and if it's no good then get another VW TDI! my $.02

Comment

Mine was a swap car, it has a PD engine out of an '04. It's a 5speed also.

I probably spent 3k in the past year just maintaining the thing. Sure I save a bit on gas but even my 91' 318is wasn't this finicky with problems and I had a similar commute.

Oh, it also has 215k+ on the engine, and burns oil like it's job.
        Last edited by alB5; 02-03-2014, 12:20 PM.

No E30 Club

Comment