Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Back problems, what are your guys' experiences?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Back problems, what are your guys' experiences?

Hey guys,

Not very often that I'd turn to R3V for medical advice, but lately, I haven't been able to get much help out of my school's resources and am in a predicament. Figured since there are lots of dudes on our site, some are bound to have run into back problems at some point in their lives.

I'm 20, turning 21 in a couple of weeks. I've been rowing for the last 7 years of my life, with the last 3 at the collegiate level. So I guess you could say I'm in decent physical shape, but train like crazy - usually 18 hrs/week, year round.

A few weeks ago, a tightness/soreness reappeared in my lower back. It started getting worse to the point that it was bothering me in my sport. I unfortunately succumbed to the pain, and lost my spot on the traveling team a week before the grunt of our race season. I then started getting physical therapy 3 times a week, mixed with a light workouts on the rowing machine and core training.

That leads me to last week. Doing the above-mentioned stuff, one morning I woke up in such bad pain that I can barely walk straight, stand, or sit in a chair for over several minutes. The pain has been so bad that I decided to drop from a frat I was pledging, and I'm kickin it on my bed now and barely move. The pain is concentrated in the lower 1/2 of my back, but is starting spread up and out the sides.

I want to hear what you guys who've experienced back problems have done/are doing, or if there are any docs in the haus please holla!!

1991 BMW 318i (Old Shell RIP, Now Being Re-shelled & Reborn)
    1983 Peugeot 505 STI
    1992 Volvo 240 Wagon
    2009 Toyota 4Runner SR5 Sport 4WD