camera for an interested photographer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

camera for an interested photographer

I'm looking for a good starter camera for myself.

I've played around with my mom's D80 and its real nice, but I can't really afford one. I'm looking for something in the 250-400 range.

I'm going to be taking an intro to photographic theory and techniques, but I have a bit of self-taught experience.

Any who, any suggestions would be nice.

I have the D40 in mind at this point.
    Flickr
    Originally posted by Indecline06
    For some reason, when I get super duper ultra stoned... The M30 motor reminds me of big bird from sesame street.

Canon Rebel XT. Great starter camera...click here. Great deal, local and you can go get a lens (or two cheap ones) to learn with...can't beat that.
    92 325ic 5 speed, hard top, windscreen, 133k, for sale
    sigpic

Comment

well if your mother has a D80 id stick with a nikon so you can use her lenses, D40 is a great starter thats for sure!

s50 downunder yo!

Comment

D40 is definitely nice. I own a D80 as well

Originally posted by ROLLingKING
        i have a bronzit and plan on making it look sweet.
        Originally posted by slammin.e28
        Moral of this story?

If you drive your e30 on stairs, you're gonna have a bad time.

Comment

Here is what I would do...

Rebel XT from the link above: $150 (comes with a camera guide and wireless remote, no lens)
          Canon 28-90 lens: $90
          Canon 50mm f/1.8: $85
          4gb CF card: $20
          Sunpak tripod: $35

This gives you a great portrait and low light lens for the money (50mm f/1.8 ), a decent range of zoom (28-90) that can be used for landscapes and general use, a tripod for long exposures or low light, a wireless remote thats great for night shots, a book to learn with and a card to hold plenty of pictures. This is an IDEAL student setup. Pick up a cheap bag and you're under $400...