Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

325 "nothing" or 318is for general track car?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

325 "nothing" or 318is for general track car?

I currently have an 88 325 (non-e/s, non i/s) coupe with a 5mt, 2.93LSD, ~155K, sunroof, IS weaves with A/S tires. It has had recent driveshaft service (CSB, guibo, etc.), but other things need updating to make it track-worthy (timing belt/cooling system, brakes, suspension).

I have a possible opportunity to trade it for a 91 318is coupe 5mt without a sunroof, 4.10LSD, similar wheels and tires. It has 250K, but meticulous maintainence records.

I am relatively new to the track world, but my 325 was bought just to get track time in autoX, HPDEs, etc. It might see one day every 2 weeks on the street, just for fun.

I want to have a car that is fun to drive with a reasonable investment (brakes, suspension, tires, wear and tear maintainence). Regardless of my chosen vehicle, fun is the goal. I will run BMWCCA autoX events, as well as some local track events. I don't need to be nationally competetive- just to have fun.

So which is a better platform for fun track time? Keep the 325 and build it, or swap for the 318is and get to work on it?
    Patrick Henry

1989 325iC build: http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=316880

Between the two motors, Im partial to the M20. Both M20 cars I had were great.

That said, the ony e30 I own is a 318is without a sunroof. For a track car, Id take the car without a sunroof naturally. And I think you'll really enjoy the 4:10 gears.
    -Jay

2014 NASA FL se30 champ #81
    2001 se46 3 year plan in progress

Comment

Originally posted by Jonny Cash View Post
      Between the two motors, Im partial to the M20. Both M20 cars I had were great.

That said, the ony e30 I own is a 318is without a sunroof. For a track car, Id take the car without a sunroof naturally. And I think you'll really enjoy the 4:10 gears.