Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Project | Type1 318is - a '91 318is build/resto w/ modern features

Project | Type1 318is

Build/Journal/Record/Inspire- The story and process behind a car that will be a base for custom parts and design.
    Synopsis/Challenge: Build an E30 with modern touches that allow the driver modern conveniences and provide the driver with real-time feedback on essential engine/car functions.

This is going to be my repository if you will, for the build of this hopefully truly unique car.

After getting a surprising diagnosis of Type1 Diabetes 6 months ago, I had to close down my business, switch careers and find a job in a real short amount of time because 4 months ago I turned 26. I was an industrial designer, and started my furniture design business after my kickstarter my senior year at design school.

Now i'm developing websites for (coincidentally) car dealerships and was fortunate enough to be able to stumble upon a relatively decent base for a project build.

https://www.r3vlimited.com/board/sho...d.php?t=423482 (New member thread with some pics of the day I brought it home)

SO what exactly am I talking about?

Restore and slightly build the car enough to where I feel comfortable daily driving it. (Actually just about there, should be good by this Sunday 6/24/18)

Starting now and through the colder months I plan to completely strip the car down and restore/build it to my specs.

At minimum
    • Rebuild engine for turbo (plan to run minimal boost <12lbs)
    • Reupholster front/rear seats
    • New clutch and lightweight flywheel
    • New carpet/headliner/door cards (making not buying)
    • Refreshed dash with Tablet controls to replace heat/air, radio etc
    • Sensors for diagnostics/data tracking (list is wip)
    • Proximity sensors
    • Wire tucked/painted engine bay
    • Full suspension upgrade
    • Chassis reinforcement
    • Design/Develop personal widebody kit (Painted Carbonfiber)