My M52TU Swap

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My M52TU Swap

So I am relatively new the the whole thread and posting bits on here, and have been researching the heck out of the 24v swaps on the forums. I am an university automotive student and am doing a swap for my senior project. I finally decided to start posting my project up here and let you guys know what I am up to with regular posts and photos. I have a 1989 325i sedan that I am swapping a M52TU into. Here's the fun part to my swap: I am doing a full OBDII swap with EWS install in my e30. I bought my car for $1500 and it isn't in the greatest shape, but for a project it is good enough since most stuff will end up replaced anyway.

The totaled one

new motor

For the motor I bought a totaled 1999 328i sedan automatic for $500. The tranny and most of the parts were good and still have a bunch if anyone is looking. Currently I am working on rebuilding the motor since it was a totaled car just to know what I am working with. I have an e34 oil pan, but am currently working on fabricating a sump since I want to keep the windage tray and pump from the m52 and not the one that is riveted to the e34 pan.

So far I have fitted the car with:

Vogland lowering springs
    Bilstein shocks
    Urethane bushings all around
    IE camber plates
    Rear camber/toe kit
    IE front/rear sway bar kit

There are a lot of little challenges in this project.

Hope to get your guy's feedback on this project as I work my way through the build over the next few months. I will be posting photos and more info later.
    Last edited by Lawson509; 03-19-2011, 09:14 AM.

Hm. Should be good; I don't think anybody has done an M52TU yet. Few have done alloy blocked M52s, but I think they have all been single Vanos.

Keep us posted, should be a fun read.

Comment

Good luck.
      1991 e30 328i M52 swapped: Gone
      1995 e34 540i/6 1 of 76 Clean
      1985 e28 euro 525i the daily

Comment