Picking up an 88 IX

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Picking up an 88 IX

New to this forum, and new to the IX scene.

I'll be picking up a 1988 325IX this Saturday! And the best part... Free car!

Back Story: I'm a real estate broker in VT, and have been working with a very nice 83 year old woman, trying to sell her house. She has 3 sons that I have also been working with to help navigate the transaction. They all hail from the town in NJ where I grew up, a small world indeed.

A few weeks ago, I found a set of wheels in NJ on VWVortex for my race car. I emailed one of the sons asking if he could possibly pick them up and bring them to VT on his next trip, and reminded him of my race car habit... He replied with a "yes" and said he had a car in a barn that I could have if I wanted it...

Needless to say, I was intrigued... "What cha got?" A 1988 BMW 325IX. It's been in the barn for 10+ years. It ran when it was parked, needs and exhaust, had a bad power steering fluid leak, and the e-brake was stuck. Other than that, all I know is that it's black with grey interior. He claims it's a "rust free" car from PA.

So I'm heading down to my old home town with my trailer, and will load the car up and bring it back to VT. When I get it back here my plans are to go through the car, replace all fluids, timing belt, water pump, brakes, tires, address the known issues, and see what I've got. If it's as rust free as advertised, I will do a waxoyl or similar treatment to the undercarriage to preserve the car.

I've done some reading on this fourm and a few others. I'll do the "jack test" for sure. Other than the above mentioned obvious items, any recommendations on things to address immediately?

If all goes well, I plan on leaving the car stock, getting good studded snow tires and driving it as a 2nd car, and possibly ice racing it a few times during the winter.