Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What can I do to make clear coat look better?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What can I do to make clear coat look better?

My son and I have matching Alpine White 1989 cabriolets. His came from Hawaii and the clear coat has peeled off in places. Is there any DIY trick we could use to get the rest off and then paint correct underneath?

I was under the impression that once the peeling starts you can only sand at that point. Id suggest 1-2k sand paper, if its completely gone you can try applying new clear coat to the panel/ issue spots.
    I am not an expert though.
    85% of the time i have no idea what I'm doing

Comment

what Slybeanx said , 89 was Alpinwess 2 I belive which unfortunately is a Base coat / Clear coat application compared to Alpinewess 1 which is single stage and can be polished but to confirm get the paint code off the strut tower under the hood. With that being said if it is base coat clear coat you can try to polish but if clears gone you'll need new clear. Pictures might help 📷
      PERSON 1 - "It whispers to me at night...and convinces me i have to spend all my earnings on it...and buy all this stuff....to be cool...and be euro."

PERSON 2 - "Oh your married too?? Oh you mean the car....yes ....yes i agree...:shock:"

Comment

Originally posted by Mpolito3355 View Post
        what Slybeanx said , 89 was Alpinwess 2 I belive which unfortunately is a Base coat / Clear coat application compared to Alpinewess 1 which is single stage and can be polished but to confirm get the paint code off the strut tower under the hood. With that being said if it is base coat clear coat you can try to polish but if clears gone you'll need new clear. Pictures might help 📷
        I was afraid of that, you can actually see flakes of clear separating.

Comment

Originally posted by Stan View Post

I was afraid of that, you can actually see flakes of clear separating.