Wideband choices for megasquirt...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wideband choices for megasquirt...

So the instinctual e30 response is get an innovate lc-1. The innovate is probably the most widely used wide-band out there and has some claims of digital accuracy that no-one can beat. As a salesman myself, I'm instantly skeptical of claims like this. Plus I try to steer away from doing what everyone else does (except the ie stg III's and koni SA's. I'll admit I'm on that bandwagon). Mainly though Innovate has developed an *internet* reputation of poor customer service, difficult to setup product, and their own forums ignore any criticism.

Sooo, there are lots of choices. Perusing other forums like NASOIC and the honda-tech boards yield lots of talk, here is a brief summary of my web-browsing. Let me know if you have any real world experience to share.

NGK Powerdex: the controller is in the digital box gauge. I prefer mounting in a standard gauge pod, so not my favorite. Supposedly one of the most accurate, but lots of claims about it shipping with a bosch sensor (odd, since ngk or NTk makes sensors), and the need for frequent calibration.

AEM UEGO: Cheap, some fans, but generally considered an inferior product.

Autometer makes a kit, but I can't find much detail about it or the suitability as a MS data source.

Zeitronix: I think this is my current candidate for purchase. People loved their zt-2 which enables all sorts of logging and data acquisition. For my purposes, I'll probably just order the zt-3 since it is simpler and MS will monitor most of the other stuff. There's an e30 on their page by Juan in Argentina

Here's his monster. Is he a r3v member?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	BMW_DiagramedHood (Small).JPG
Views:	1
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	7223885

Any other brands worth looking at?