Single vs Dual Mass Flywheel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Single vs Dual Mass Flywheel

I just picked up my manual swap. It is a late ETA with the dual mass flywheel. Previous owner said he originally had single mass and swapped back due to chatter and sold the single mass. My question is if it is worth it to buy a single mass and have it lightened to 14/15lbs? He said he saw no difference in performance but that’s hard to imagine being this flywheel is 28.5lbs. My plans for the car are just ported head/cam/headers nothing major. Wondering if I should save the money or go ahead and get the single mass? Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hows the condition of the dual mass? i've only seen one and it was stuffed, im no expert but i assume the two parts are supposed to move quite smoothly but also be quite difficult to move, not flopping around.

I personally chose to not use the dual mass (i never did drive on it), and got a single mass. Mainly as i didn't want to take the gearbox out again if the dual mass flywheel gave up (i assume that is possible) and the dual mass seemed incredibly heavy. Depends what you can find, i got a single mass for 50 bucks but that was a few years ago now. Surely lighter has to be better:)

Comment

It was inspected and in good order. $50!? I can’t find them for less than $275!!! Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Originally posted by IceyVert View Post
        It was inspected and in good order. $50!? I can’t find them for less than $275!!! Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
        Drop a link please, I need to order one too asap for a swap

Comment

50bucks was a second handy oem one that i had to get resurfaced...

You might as well buy a fancy light weight one for that price.

BMW M20 Lightweight Chrome-Molly Steel Flywheel, standard 228mm clutch fitment. Light and very strong. DMF replacement conversions also available.

Comment

Originally posted by e30davie View Post