m30b35 supercharged

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

m30b35 supercharged

So here is the plan. I am currently doing an m30b35 swap and a few days ago I decided to explore the idea of supercharging it. I picked up an eaton from a supercoupe yesterday with the charge pipe and the lower manifold. I will not be using the manifold.

My plans are to fab the appropriate brackets to mount the sc and use the charge pipe coming off the sc to route into a small fmic and into the intake on the other side. The orientation of everything should work out well. I am planning on running a low boost application initially, 7-9 psi with a BEGi rrfpr. I will also have to have a custom crank pulley machined. I am thinking of having some spare brackets made up at the same time if anyone out there is interested. This is my first time doing a sc, so I may be missing some things. I will be installing a wideband to make sure that AFR's are where they are supposed to be.

Am I missing anything? This is not going to be a track monster. I am looking for somewhere around 250-300 WHP with the added wicked, evil, dirty sound.

I decided to go the sc route instead of the turbo for two reasons. 1, to take advantage of the linear power band of the sc in correlation to the gobs of low end torque produced by the m30, and 2, well, to do something different.
    Any input or advice as I dive into this would be GREATLY appreciated.

This project description is causing me to have a tingly sensation in my nether regions...

Comment

You and me both. I have had straight wood for about 3 days. Long term plan is to run MS with a proper tune but I want to get it running correctly before diving into the tuning side of things. Also, I am sure I am going to get an earfull of how I should not tune with an AFR. I know it's not ideal but that is the plan for now. I just got through looking at the motor and I think I have an idea on the brackets.

Comment

Originally posted by CorvallisBMW View Post