M42 valve cover bolts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

M42 valve cover bolts

I took off my valve cover, when I tried putting it back on almost none of the bolts seem to get tight at all. Is this common? What should I do?
    Originally posted by TSI
    ♫ Rust flecks are falling on my head...♫
    OEM+

Helicoils on the head, it's not uncommon when over tightened that the threads on the head are damaged my m40 has similar problems & my m42 has two threads on the head with helicoils in it

Comment

and it's not like this is my first time wrenching, I know how to take off and put a bolt on thank god. Just very weird. It's not leaking but I don't feel confident in it
      Originally posted by TSI
      OEM+

Comment

These bolts take about 8lbs of torque. If too tight you have lost the thread. Time to learn how to helicoil
        Last edited by salvuhdor; 04-14-2013, 09:11 AM.

Comment

The M42 valvecover bolts are designed to tighten fully against the head. The protrusion is sized to apply the correct amount of squeeze on the valvecover gasket. So if they keep spinning the female threads in the head are stripped.

Comment

Fair enough. I bought new bolts that are about 3 threads longer than the old bolts, fitted it with the rubber boots and spacers and they seem to have done the trick.
            Originally posted by TSI
            OEM+

Comment

Originally posted by lolcantturn View Post
              Fair enough. I bought new bolts that are about 3 threads longer than the old bolts, fitted it with the rubber boots and spacers and they seem to have done the trick.
              Seems like a good solution vs a Helicoil. I am assuming you used a straight through bolt rather than the stock double shouldered?

Comment

The threads in the head will ALL die eventually. Constant thermal expansion/contraction cycling will ensure that as the aluminum and steel parts expand different amounts. The rubber bushings are supposed to help, but they don't.