Clunking at deceleration, other driveline issues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Clunking at deceleration, other driveline issues

88 325is, while driving in 4th/5th gear if you let off suddenly and coast, theres a clunking noise and bucking feeling. Get on the gas again and it stops. Also while accelerating in 1st/2nd gear you can feel a slight shudder. Just recently I've noticed some squeaking while taking off from a dead stop and at slow speeds in 2nd/3rd. This sounds like it may be a bad u-joint as well...sound plausible?

From reading it sounds like it could be a bad CSB as well as bad driveshaft/u-joints. Anything else I need to look at for possible replacement?

Sorry if these are dumb questions but I'm new to e30s

I think you are on the right track however it sounds similar to a symptom I had which turned out to be shot trans mounts.
    Seat Shocks....I have passed the baton to John Christy from Ninestitch. Email John or Garrett at ninestitch1@gmail.com

https://www.r3vlimited.com/board/sho...86#post4944786
    Alice the Time Capsule
    http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=360504
    87 Zinno Cabrio barn find 98k and still smells like a barn. Build thread http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/show...20#post3455220

Comment

Have similar issues. Instead I get clunking/grinding as soon as I let off the gas in all gears. Does the squeaking start around 3k rpm continues? Any clunking and bucking at neutral? does it at all go away when you push the clutch in?

Comment

Originally posted by Animefrank View Post
        Have similar issues. Instead I get clunking/grinding as soon as I let off the gas in all gears. Does the squeaking start around 3k rpm continues? Any clunking and bucking at neutral? does it at all go away when you push the clutch in?