Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

total newb, BUT, ix awd drivetrain in e30 m3? crazy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

total newb, BUT, ix awd drivetrain in e30 m3? crazy?

heya bmw peeps,

sooooo, i have been lusting after e30 m3's for years. In a perfect world, i would have one for a summer/weekend driver, but due to my location (snow, sleet, and lots o rain) i am very limited in my daily driver selection. i come from a HEAVY tuned Subaru background, but I am very bored with the lack of character both from what Subaru and Mitsu have to offer (yes, an Evo MR is sick, fast but UGLY). I really don't like the 335xi either, as a the lack of "feel" and character is, well, lacking. Soooooooo

I had a thought of getting a 325xi coupe and then transfer as much as possible into one of the many e30 M3 rollers i have seen around the intraweb. I have searched but can't seem to find a clear answer on the chassis difference between the e30 xi vs e30 M3. I understand the motor/tranny will never work in the m3, but is the e30 M3 chassis THAT different from the standard e30 ix chassis?

thanks for any direction. i am sure the purest will be mortified, but what would the world be like without a few paradigm shifts every now and then?

cheers!

josh

ps, i am aso thinking of taking an e30 xi and morphing it regardless of body diff's. adding m3 wide fenders etc. has this been done? i have good access to fabrication and welding. thanks again!

welcome to the community. the solution to this question is likely beyond your capabilities and resources but....

well, first, it is e30 ix. xi is the piece o' shit e46 that used open diffs and the abs to lock up spinning wheels.