Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What should I do with my car? (Due for smog and it will fail)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What should I do with my car? (Due for smog and it will fail)

So my '87 325IS is up for smog again. I'm certain it will fail as it barely passed last year, and I've been pouring money into it for the past 5 years to keep it on the road. I think I know what the problem is, but I just can't reasonably continue to spend time/money on it when I have other working vehicles. It's just a hard decision to make because I have quite a bit of sentimental value in the vehicle.

As far as options go, I was thinking of taking advantage of California's buy-back program where they will pay up to $1000 to get your gross polluting vehicle off the road. I haven't heard many details on this program other than a minimum of 18 months vehicle ownership and recently failing smog. Does anyone know any other details about this program? I'd like to take a few things out of the car before it gets crushed, but not sure how much they will let me remove from the vehicle.

My other option is to attempt to sell the car... but I'm not sure if I could even get $1000 for it. It's fairly undesirable. It's got almost 200K miles, it's bronzit, and has an automatic transmission. The paint is horrible on it and was in a front-end collision last year. It drives mostly fine, but definitely not desirable.

I don't think parting-out is an option for me since I just don't have the time/space for that. I've got other projects going on simultaneously and all my spare parking spots are used up.

So what do you guys think?
    Michael Spiegle

'01 Ford Escape / Daily Driver
    '99 M3 / Track Car
    '87 325is bronzit / wtf car
    '06 Daytona Triumph 675 / Daily Rider

If the state will give you more than you can sell it for, I'd say go for it. I am sure you can take almost anything off as long as it is able to drive to wherever you need to deliver it.