Operation: Obtain e30>>SUCCESS>>Initiate project #2

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Operation: Obtain e30>>SUCCESS>>Initiate project #2

June 28, 2012...This was not a day to be forgotten for a while. Let me preface all this by saying I am not a rich kid, but I am a very hard worker. Supporting my girlfriend and myself on one paycheck for the last year+ has been a constant struggle. I have been dreaming of owning a second BMW for a couple years here. I randomly jump on Craigslist a couple times a week to see what's up for sale, and luckily July presented a nice opportunity. Three paychecks in a month instead of the usual two? Hell. Yes. So, I began to comb CL a little more frequently, knowing I would have to jump quickly.

Found a vague posting for a black '87 e30 coupe, but the photos looked pretty good. The ad stated the couple who owned the e30 just got another car (making three), so they had no real use for this one. The lady who posted the ad had her work and cell phone listed, so I gave her a ring at work as fast as I could dial. She answered saying she had just come back from vacation and had been overwhelmed by the response she had gotten for the car. At $900, I could understand why; this was the ever-increasingly elusive running e30 for under a grand!!! Ran through the usual questions and everything seemed in order. I immediately offered an even thousand if I could be the first one to look at her, and she agreed. Sweet!

Took her about 5 days to arrange a meeting, and honestly by day three I was getting pretty bummed out, losing hope that this would ever happen. But then on the fifth day, I got a text saying if I was still interested, come on by. In a flash I replied, grabbed my girlfriend and smashed through the canyon in the e36.