Brake fluid types

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brake fluid types

I have been building my track car for the last two years and I am almost done, I am getting the BBK setup today and was wondering what brand fluid would be best for a weekend tracker and DD all in one.

Types I have found:

Motul RBF 600 DOT4

ATE Super blue/gold DOT4(leaning more at this one, for DD and race apps)

Also how many ltrs to fill the complete system? I tore out the ABS too. I was guessing three bottles to be safe.
    Last edited by F34R; 07-27-2011, 07:05 AM.
    ~ Puch Cafe. ~ Do business? feedback ~ Check out my leather company ~

Instagram: @BWeissLeather

Current cars:
    ~ '87 325 M30B35 swap
    ~ '87 535
    ~ 01 540 Msport 6spd
    ~ '06 X5 4.8is

I use ATE type 200, think super blue without the dye that stains if spilled/dripped.

1 Liter is usually plenty for a full bleed including the clutch system with my bleeder. If your filling a new system possibly 2.

Comment

Ate is DOT4 IIRC.

Valvoline's brake fluid is good too.

1L is enough to bleed the entire system unless it is bone dry.
      2017 Chevrolet SS, 6MT
      95 M3/2/5 (S54 and Mk60 DSC, CARB legal, Build Thread)
      98 M3/4/5 (stock)

Comment

Originally posted by bimmerteck View Post
        I use ATE type 200, think super blue without the dye that stains if spilled/dripped.

1 Liter is usually plenty for a full bleed including the clutch system with my bleeder. If your filling a new system possibly 2.
        Just looked that up, seems very good for what I am using my car for. And yes the system is in terms dry. I removed the ABS and all braking stuff but the lines. So i want to fill it up with all new for the expensive BBK setup I just spent on.

Here is info on the type 200 for anyone wondering: