E36 woes..Help needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

E36 woes..Help needed

Hey guys, my gf is having trouble with her E36. She went out tonight with a friend and when she came back to her car it wouldn't start. Her friend jump started her car, and she managed to get it home with no problems. As soon as she got it home, she tried to start it again but it didn't roll over, it just made clicking sounds. All her interior lights and instrument cluster work however. I would try and help her out myself except she lives up in Redmond and I'm down here. Can anyone help her out?

out dated sig is out dated

Sounds like a shitty battery. They don't like the cold.
    '72 2002 pickup | '88 M5 | '89 330is | '89 M3 | '01 Z3M | '11 328xi-t

Comment

I'd say make sure her battery terminals are nice and tight

I am not a expert on e36 problems or any type diagnosing, just something that has happened to me before. :)
      Transaction Feedback: -click here
      [e30: '91 318is coupe|brilliantrot||e36: '98 318ti|fern green|California top|M-Tech]
      [URL="http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=300453"]

Comment

That's what I was thinking. Either that, or somewhere along the lines of her alternator not charging/working. But she says all her interior lights and stuff work fine. They don't look dim at all. When she tried to lock her car, it freaked out and had a mini seizure.

Comment

If it wasn't charging, the lights wouldn't even turn on. That clicking is the starter not getting enough power to spin. Start at the battery and move forward.

I would also consider getting a battery tender for it and putting it on overnight, just to see what happens.
          '72 2002 pickup | '88 M5 | '89 330is | '89 M3 | '01 Z3M | '11 328xi-t

Comment

Battery or battery connection issue. Any autoparts store can load test the battery for her and if she can get it jumped, most will even install. Or are you asking if someone up north will swap the battery out for her?