About to buy my first IX, I think?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

About to buy my first IX, I think?

Hey guys, I am completely new to the e30 scene (so much so that I don't even have one yet). I saw one years ago and immediately fell in love, so I've been waiting for the right time to buy one ever since. Ive spent hours on r3v just reading and trying to learn/find the right e30 for me. With that being said:

Im moving to Denver, CO-- For anyone who lives up there, or in a place that gets a bunch of snow, do I really NEED an IX if I am going to use it as a DD?

For a young college graduate who doesn't have a ton of money, am I going to put myself in a hole financially trying to maintain an e30 (particularly an IX?)

Is it common for people to boost/turbo (idk if theres a difference between those) IX's? This link will explain why I ask, and it also explains what I might love to do some day in the future: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=adU1V9aiZqM

Anything else at all that might be helpful for me to know, shoot! I appreciate anything you guys might have to add!

Thanks

I've never driven a RWD e30 in the snow, but I've heard that as long as you have decent snow tires, a LSD, and aren't stupid then they are a blast to drive.

As for the maintenance cost, I own both a 325ix and a 325i and neither one is more expensive per se. I don't really notice my self spending more one one or the other when it comes to maintenance. I do spend a lot on "Spares" for the ix, diffs, front axles, engine, transmission, transfer case, steering racks, strut tubes but this is a personal choice and I have these as spares to either modify, rebuild, or for mock up. I spent probably $300 on the strut tubes for the ix while I picked up some for the 325i for $40. Both used and in the same condition, but the difference is just supply and demand.