Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

88 325ix suggestions

Hi new member here.

I bought a 88 325ix a few months ago. Throw out bearing was squeeling and now when the clutch pedal is pressed to put it in gear, it stalls the car immediately.

Looking at new clutches.. Should I go with something other than oem?
    I might do some future performance upgrades but probably not a turbo.

Also thinking of putting in a JB aluminum flywheel 8lbs while I'm in there.. Will it effect my drivability on the street in a bad way?

Thanks in advance
    Jaime
    Attached Files
    Last edited by jaime88325ix; 11-28-2016, 10:49 AM. Reason: Add photo

Hey James welcome to R3v; Get a Race Hardware delvelopment flywheel.. half the pirice, 7lbs. It will probably be more difficult than stock to be smooth but the throttle response is hugely improved. I'd just go with OE clutch. If your not doing turbo then it will hold up fine.

Edit: I have no experience with the RHD flywheel; Berlow makes a good point. With some basic research it seems like it would be a better idea to find a machine shop that can lighten it to 12.5- 15 seems to be good (just depends on the shop). I almost bought a RHD Flywheel today; now I am reconsidering.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Chrisbike; 11-28-2016, 11:52 PM.
    Build Thread
    https://www.r3vlimited.com/board/sho...d.php?t=419655
    Parts Thread
    https://www.r3vlimited.com/board/sho...d.php?t=408302

Comment

Remember this very carefully: Everything you do that is not stock will reduce drivability in some form.

I have the 8.5lb flywheel, I like it. I'd get it again. Well, maybe I'd get the RHD flywheel since it's cheaper. Does the RPMs drop as it stalls out or does it die, unrelated to the engine speed? For example, are you stalling the car out like you messed up starting the car out in 1st gear?

Congrats on the car btw, Black over Cardinal is a great combination.
      AWD > RWD

Comment

Thanks for the replys!