M20b23 adding power

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

M20b23 adding power

Hi guys, I'm new to the e30 world and just got myself a e30 M20b23 with manual transmission. Can someone advice what I can do increase the power please without going force induction.

For an example in my m50 previously I stroked it to a 3.0 by using m54 internals. Is something like that possible for the M20b23.?

Looking forward to your advice. Thanks in advance.

You would be better off starting with the 2.5/2.7 block. The 2.3 not only had a shorter stroke, but tiny 80mm slugs.
    john@m20guru.com
    Links:
    Transaction feedback: Here, here and here. Thanks :D

Comment

Originally posted by Roguegenius View Post
      Hi guys, I'm new to the e30 world and just got myself a e30 M20b23 with manual transmission. Can someone advice what I can do increase the power please without going force induction.

For an example in my m50 previously I stroked it to a 3.0 by using m54 internals. Is something like that possible for the M20b23.?

Looking forward to your advice. Thanks in advance.
      can stroke the m20 much the same as M50 but depends what kind of engine characteristics you want more torque or do you want to rev the hell out of it?
      As stated the eta block is a better starting point as the larger bore ads plenty of cubes. People have taken the 80 mm bore out to 84 mm many times and its pretty popular in the UK but dont know if anyone has gone to 85 or 86 like is common with the 84 mm blocks from eta and M20B25

Does yours have the 731 head casting ? i think the real early engines perhaps from e21 had the 200 casting may be wrong on that
      89 E30 325is Lachs Silber - currently M20B31, M20B33 in the works, stroked to the hilt...

new build thread http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=317505

Comment

^^^didnt even think about the head castings. Yeah, b20 and early b23 got 200, but AFAIK, the b23's I have seen in the grey market USDM have been 731.