Control arm problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Control arm problem

Hey everyone I just took my e30 to get inspected and they told me that I need to replace the control arm. I took a look and to me it looks like nothing is wrong but I'm not an expert. Here's some pics please let me know why it's messed up or why it's not. The guy made it seem very dangerous, but Idk if it is! Thanks for any answers and as always if more pics are required let me know! Thanks everybody :D
    BMW tech
    Umass Amherst
    05 wrx sti

Looks fine to me, your boots on the BJs aren't even torn up. Sway bushing looks a little stretched but far from anything I'd call dangerous. I've seen MUCH worse.....Sounds like he was looking for some work.
    sigpic

Rebellion Forge Custom Fabrication

1988 325is - TrackRat in progress

Instagram @rebellionforge

Comment

shitty pic of the CAB (no offense, just sayin) but it looks like the CABs might need replacement. also, you didn't mention if the BJs have play in them or not.

most places won't even bother pressing new BJs or CABs in since you can buy control arms for a reasonably cheap price with them already pressed in.

IMO unless you have play in the BJs and your CAB isn't falling out, like it looks in the pic, you'll be fine

Comment

Originally posted by IronFreak View Post
        Looks fine to me, your boots on the BJs aren't even torn up. Sway bushing looks a little stretched but far from anything I'd call dangerous. I've seen MUCH worse.....Sounds like he was looking for some work.
        Originally posted by jalopi View Post
        shitty pic of the CAB (no offense, just sayin) but it looks like the CABs might need replacement. also, you didn't mention if the BJs have play in them or not.

most places won't even bother pressing new BJs or CABs in since you can buy control arms for a reasonably cheap price with them already pressed in.