Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Opinion On Potential '87 325is Buy

Hi everyone,

I am new to the e30 community and have been trying to do some research before pulling the trigger on a 325is coupe. The ad is very limited but after speaking with the seller, here are some of the details I know:

BC coilovers.
    AC does not work but everything is there.
    Clutch is newish
    New valve cover gasket, throttle cable, and spark plugs.
    No rust.
    Two small dash cracks.
    Odometer stopped working.
    New brakes.

I am planning to take a look at the car on Saturday. What do you guys think? The car is listed for $5000. Thank you for your feedback!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

UPDATE: Instead of creating a second post, i'll just edit this one to include another one that I might look at:

Adver:
    VIN: WBAAA130XLEC65681
    car has been carefully maintained by same owner & mechanic since 20k miles (90% of the total mileage). i am the third owner, only had her for the past 1k. been daily-ing her for a few weeks. selling because i'd like something more convenient like a civic, accord etc

the car runs fine although i dont know the first thing about maintaining a car, much less a 30yo bmw; certainly there is some routine maintenance that needs to be done.

issues
    >right window stuck
    >glovebox stuck
    >dash cracks
    >getrag rattle noise, completely harmless (see below link)
    >was told by mechanic that ac compressor's days are numbered. ac works great and likely will for a long time but is showing signs of wear
    >typical old car cosmetic stuff (rubber bumper paint, feels a little bouncy going over speed bumps)