89 325is rust repair recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

89 325is rust repair recommendations

I'm working on my 89 325is trying to get this thing back on the road after 4 yrs. I've stripped the interior and the attached images is what I found under the carpet. The rust is minimal but it's in the common areas. Do I need to remove the sound deadening and if so what do I replace it with? Will the small holes require weld in panels for or is there a filler that I can use instead? I have zero welding experience but I'm willing to learn if needed. I've watched a youtube vid by Restore It and he used a wire mesh with fiberglass filler on an e30 rear end repair. As of right now I've ground down the rust and sprayed some rust inhibitor on the areas. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

It's hard to tell from those pictures exactly how big the holes are but if they are just pin-holes or smaller holes I think you can safely approach it two ways; welding or filling with an appropriate material.

Welding can be tricky due to the thin nature of sheet metal and the tendency to blow through and make the hole bigger, plus the heat can affect the paint in surrounding area as well as cause the undercoat to lift or burn away.

Filling is less invasive and if done properly can be considered a solid repair. I would prep the holes with inhibitor (as you have), then paint and finally apply a good quality seam sealer (Dynatron 550 or 3M Flexclear). The body plug you show in the last picture is sealed with seam sealer from the factory (as are many other areas) so I don't think this is that wild of an idea. Of course this won't necessarily work on larger holes where you need something robust to fill the gap.

As far as the sound deadening, I have just used a generic butyl based material from amazon, etc. to replace sections I needed to remove for this exact reason.

I will be interested to hear others opinions.

Comment