1986 325e - M50 Stroker Turbo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1986 325e - M50 Stroker Turbo

Hello all, I'm starting this thread to track my progress and get others opinions and information. The car is a 1986 325e with 232k. It will be receiving a M50B25 NV from a 92 e36.

The Plan:
    Rebuild and stroke the NV M50. Here is a parts list.
    S52 crank 89.6mm stroke
    Eagle rods 135mm
    Wiseco pistons 84.5mm bore 9.5 compression ratio
    Will be running Megasquirt
    zf e36 trans

Power goals are around 300 to 350 whp. Reliability is the main reason for complete rebuild.

I'm having the machine shop bore 84.5mm, o-ring, knife-edge the crank, and refresh the head. I might have then assemble my block as I have never done anything like this before. I've got a hanyes and bentley on the way so I might work up the courage.

Progress may be slow as I'm in college but I hope to have the stroker in by August.

I haven't researched much on a turbo setup yet. Trying to get the stroker done and in the car. I probably forgot a few things but I'll add and revise as I go.

Thanks for looking. Opinions and concerns are appreciated.
    Last edited by brokenbimmer533; 05-19-2010, 07:55 PM.

Haynes and Bentley are here.
    Few pictures of the parts that have accumulated over the past few months.
    Tear down will start mid July as my summer class takes up most of my time. Trying to get my hands on a set of Integrated Engineering con rods but not sure if that is going to happen. I would like to put a better quality con rod in now instead of tearing it apart later if I ever want to up the boost.

I will also be placing a big order through pelican soon for gaskets, seals, etc.
    The list so far:
    Crank bearings
    rod bearings
    head gasket kit
    lower gasket kit
    front main seal
    rear main seal
    new thermostat
    new water pump
    timing chain/tensioner/guides/etc
    This list will most likely grow as I tear down the engine.