M5X Swap fuel pump questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

M5X Swap fuel pump questions

Im pretty sure my fuel pump is going bad. I’m in the midst of building an M50 to swap in to the E30 so I’m not going to buy another stock M20 fuel pump. I haven’t seen a solid recommendation on what people are running on their swaps. I plan on doing a turbo m50 pushing about 350-400whp. I was thinking of a 255LPH, would it be alright to run one of those on the M20 for a couple months until I’m ready to swap?

sorry I’m new to car building & still learning a lot. I’ve only worked on & built old honda motorcycles so this is all new to me. appreciate all the help

Originally posted by hreverman View Post
    Im pretty sure my fuel pump is going bad. I’m in the midst of building an M50 to swap in to the E30 so I’m not going to buy another stock M20 fuel pump. I haven’t seen a solid recommendation on what people are running on their swaps. I plan on doing a turbo m50 pushing about 350-400whp. I was thinking of a 255LPH, would it be alright to run one of those on the M20 for a couple months until I’m ready to swap? sorry I’m new to car building & still learning a lot. I’ve only worked on & built old honda motorcycles so this is all new to me. appreciate all the help
    Walbro 450 is so cheap and drop in, why not just do that for headroom? Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

Comment

I would stay away from Walbro. It's not even a brand anymore, just clones. I have had so many fail, I now use Aeromotive drop in or Bosch 044 in-line in client cars

The stock pump works fine for a swap car, plenty of headroom, even.
      john@m20guru.com
      Links:
      Transaction feedback: Here, here and here. Thanks :D

Comment

TI/Walbro 255 is fine for your goal, just buy from somewhere reputable because as John said, it's like 90% fakes out there. I think Bosch 044 are a similar story though, so be careful regardless.