Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Thoughts on AC for M20 turbo project - keep, upgrade, or ditch?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thoughts on AC for M20 turbo project - keep, upgrade, or ditch?

Hello, I am in the early stages of my first build: a 327i (eta bottom end + i 885 head) turbo. I am about to pull the engine to check on the health of the bottom end and am trying to decide what to do with the AC. Since this is my first build, I realize it is probably easiest to just drop the AC to give me more room for the turbo plumbing, intercooler, etc. However, I live in Utah where the summers can get really hot, so I would love to keep AC if possible. I am pretty positive the current AC system is original.

So, I believe my options are:
    -Keep original AC (hopefully it works! The car doesn't run yet) and deal with less room for turbo setup
    -Upgrade the AC to something newer, especially since I am pulling the engine anyway
    -Ditch the AC, making more room for the turbo setup, and deal with the summer heat

What do you think would be best? Also, would it make sense to ditch the AC for now, build everything else, then consider adding it later? I would imagine this is a bad idea, but want to hear from those with experience.

Thanks!​

Big dose of IMO here but AC is crucial to a frequently driven street car, and deleting it is just taking the easy way out. If I can do it, you can too. Piping gets a little tight but I have the biggest possible FMIC without substantial sheet metal mods and I have AC. Compressor discharge goes down between the AC compressor and frame rail, down to the IC inlet, and then the cold side goes out on the other side of the core support and up past the power steering pump. If you have smaller power goals than me (or a spiffy garrett or bell intercooler core) you can run a smaller IC than my big ebay core and even keep a decent sized condenser fan instead of the 3 server fans I run

IG @turbovarg