M10 help plz

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

M10 help plz

I recently purchased a 1985 318i that had sat for 22years…..long story short I flushed everything and have replaced fuel pump, fuel pressure regulator, fuel filter as well as tons of the fuel lines. It has new spark plugs and oil filter as well as new fluids. The car will only start and stay running if I pinch the fuel supply line to the fuel rail. Once you do that the car will start and run Just fine until it gets to temp then the fuel pump starts to heat up and the car shuts off. I’m pretty new to e30s and the m10 any help would be greatly appreciated.

What about the tank? was the tank in good condition internally? Which fuel pump did you buy? Did you pinch the supply or did you mean return line?
    "I'd probably take the E30 M3 in this case just because I love that little car, and how tanky that inline 6 is." - thecj

85 323i M TECH 1 S52 - ALPINEWEISS/SCHWARZE
    88 M3 - LACHSSILBER/SCHWARZE
    89 M3 - ALPINEWEISS II/M TECH CLOTH-ALCANTARA
    91 M TECHNIC CABRIO TURBO - MACAOBLAU/M TECH CLOTH-LEATHER

Comment

Yessir tank was fine nothing internally maybe I will pull the push pump from inside but I replaced the in line fuel pump it was the one that was making a ton of noise when It did run.

Comment

check or replace your fpr

Comment

Already replaced that as well I’m boiling it down to possibly an injector issue atm? But the car I’ve seen it run and don’t show any signs of something major

Comment

I would consider checking the fuel pressure at the fuel rail. It should be 3 atm or 42 psi +/- since that is what the M10 pressure regulator is rated for. It doesn’t sound like you’re getting too little fuel. If the fuel pressure regulator is bad (I know you said it’s new, but that doesn’t guarantee it’s functional) or there is an obstruction in the return line that could cause your in line pump to overheat.

Comment

...yeah, +1 for fuel pressure,