Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help me decide which engine to build.

Hey Guys,

I've got a 90 325is. Nothing at all wrong with the original engine, still runs great, makes decent power, etc. But I'm a mechanic, shop owner, car collector, and a driver's driver! In other words, I want more! More power, more torque, just more.

I can't decide which route to go, and I have a few options.

1) M30B35 with 265 gearbox. I already have ALL the parts needed to do this swap. Simlle, cheap, and fast, but I'm afraid it will upset the balance of the E30, as well as comsuming much more fuel.

2) M20B25 with rebuilt head, oversize valves, 272 cam. This one is appealing because it's very very simple, and I've driven cars with similar setups. Fast, rev happy, and fun.

3) M20B27eta with custom pistons, i head, 272 cam, larger valves. I have a 2.7 bottom end in great shape already, just need the pistons, and have a head built.

4) M20B25 with IE 3.1 stroker kit. This will also include an appropriately built head. Most expensive option, but should net some serious power, sound great, very unique, and best of all, everything will be NEW!

I'm leaning towards.....oh fuck, I don't know. Thats why I made this thread.

Anyone have similar setups, pros and cons of each?

Thanks,

Al

ps - Yes, I've also consider M50/52, S50/52 swaps as well, but I don't have any of those motors, and franky, I'm a bit old school, and enjoy the single cammers.

Originally posted by Al Canuck View Post

ps - Yes, I've also consider M50/52, S50/52 swaps as well, but I don't have any of those motors, and franky, I'm a bit old school, and enjoy the single cammers.
    Yes, curse those 17 year old DOHC "new" motors!

-Charlie
    Swing wild, brake later, don't apologize.
    '89 324d, '76 02, '98 318ti, '03 Z4, '07 MCS, '07 F800s - Bonafide BMW elitist prick.
    FYYFF

Comment

Good keep it old school.
      I would prefer just getting a bigger differential to start, maby a big case 4.10.