How long do they last?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How long do they last?

Looking at a 2-owner completely unmolested 88 325is with almost 300k on it. I'm new to e30's, so I'm wondering how many is too many when it comes to miles on the car?

As long as you're willing to maintain it. These cars are already 30+ years old - if they were poor quality and suddenly disintegrated at an arbitrary mileage, it probably would have happened by now. ;)
    Build thread

Bimmerlabs

Comment

I've seen 60k mile e30s I wouldn't buy and 485k mile e30s I would love to have the money to buy.
      AWD > RWD

Comment

Originally posted by Kershaw View Post
        I've seen 60k mile e30s I wouldn't buy and 485k mile e30s I would love to have the money to buy.
        Seconded.

History beats mileage every time.
        My previous build (currently E30-less)
        http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=170390

A 2016 Toyota Tacoma TRD 4x4 Offroad in Inferno is my newest obsession

Comment

Originally posted by MR E30 325is View Post
          Seconded.

History beats mileage every time.
          I got my first one with 300K and the new one with 240K no issues... just give it a once over... I don't think its luck...haha

Comment

Mine has 281k and I rev it to 7200 rpm several times per week. As mentioned before maintenance and history are key. if it was kept up it will last a very long time. look up million mile bmw on YouTube or Google.
            http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=316212

BMWCCA #398608
            IG @yagayo38

"The Best E30's were built with two camshafts four cylinders and sixteen valves!".

Comment

You will have to replace parts no matter what- pleasantly, almost all the disposable parts
              are still available.

It's shocking what a full set of rear bushings can do to tighten up a 'loose old car'-
              and then add new dampers, front bushings, etc, and it's almost like it's new.